Kids With Camera

Currently watching this show called born into brothels, I dont know why I chance upon this show on Okto but Its really good, it shows the hardcore poor that is living in the City of India, there is this lady from I dont know where, there was no introduction but the main topic in this series is the kids, I do feel for this kids because I have a soft side for all this, I always imagine myself what happens if I was in their shoes, I truly feel lucky being born to what I am today, I always give thanks to god, but on to the show, here is the show’s synopsis:

Synopsis

The most stigmatized people in Calcutta’s red light district are not
the prostitutes, but their children. In the face of abject poverty,
abuse, and despair, these kids have little possibility of escaping
their mother’s fate or for creating another type of life.

In Born into Brothels, directors Zana Briski and Ross Kauffman
chronicle the amazing transformation of the children they come to know
in the red light district. Briski, a professional photographer, gives
them lessons and cameras, igniting latent sparks of artistic genius
that reside in these children who live in the most sordid and seemingly
hopeless world.

The photographs taken by the children are not merely examples of
remarkable observation and talent; they reflect something much larger,
morally encouraging, and even politically volatile: art as an immensely
liberating and empowering force.

Devoid of sentimentality, Born into Brothels defies the typical
tear-stained tourist snapshot of the global underbelly. Briski spends
years with these kids and becomes part of their lives. Their
photographs are prisms into their souls, rather than anthropological
curiosities or primitive imagery, and a true testimony of the power of
the indelible creative spirit.
 

Watching the series, I will remember this kid called Avijit, he is truly a big talent, the way he draws and paint a picture is truly amazing, he has talents which surpass kids of his age, then what does this lady do? she comes into the suburb and changes the life of all this kids by teaching them photography, they know nothing of taking pictures and here this lady hands them 35mm film cam and teach them composition and BASIC photography, the pictures they took are truly amazing and it even put me to shame, I am no photography but I love photography, and now that lady that came to stay with them for over 2 years is selling their pictures to raise fund for them to go to boarding schools, I do hope all this kids will do well, I wish them all the best. in case you are wondering what program I was watching?? here is the link to it. please donate if possible, doing charity despite the economy is to show how unselfish oneself is. the picture below was taken by Puja, I am looking for the avijit’s picture by the beach, He has so much talent, I could only find his self potrait which is also below Puja’s by the beach pic.

OH I FOUND IT !! I don’t know if you can find why I love his picture by the beach so much, but if you do let me know., see if you have eyes and mindset like mine. hahah .. I love his quirkiness in his creativity and photography. As i was reading the website more, I was right about Avijit, he now currently studying in NYU and finishing his senior year and is currently pursuing medicine and film. WOW !! but I pity some of the other kid as they have gone back to the brothels. click on the update of the kids to read more.

for more information and contributes or donation please contact the following or visit their website at KIDS WITH CAMERAS

Kids with Cameras

122 Main Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101

(646) 213-1333  voice and fax

For General Inquiries

» info@kids-with-cameras.org

FOR ALL ORDER QUESTIONS

» orders@kids-with-cameras.org

PRESS, SCREENING AND SPEAKING EVENTS INQUIRIES

» press@kids-with-cameras.org

For screening and speaking events with Ross Kauffman

» rosskauffman@earthlink.net

Leave a Reply

