Shin Splits Symptoms

It has been a Month passed since I have gotten my Garmin FR60, I would say that I am loving it but It would be great to have it with a GPS system inbuilt, like the Forerunner 405, but the Forerunner 405 is butt ugly to me by looks, and the problem with having a GPS system in the watch, is that it will have a lithium ion battery built-in, and you need to recharge it after every use, whats the point ! I don’t want a watch which I would need to charge after every run.

anyway it has been a month and I could see great progress from the 1st day of me training alone against me training with a HR watch, the best part of this watch is that it shows the speed that we are moving, like the pace. WOW, I am really using this to the max, I am trying to push for a sub 50min 10k. for the moment, I have pushed it down to 9km in 47min, and my 4km is at 19min, So if I kept my pace at 4min/km that 5km run would have been only 23min. So here comes lies the problem. I think I have over trained myself. I keep wanting to go faster and longer. Looks like the last three days really hammered my legs. I may have SHIN SPLITS ! *mild one I think*

so what are the symptom to Shin splits

  • Pain over the inside lower half of the shin.
  • Pain at the start of exercise which often eases as the session continues
  • Pain often returns after activity and may be at its worse the next morning.
  • Sometimes some swelling.
  • Lumps and bumps may be felt when feeling the inside of the shin bone.
  • Pain when the toes or foot are bent downwards.
  • A redness over the inside of the shin (not always present).

I am sure lots of people out there have experience this problem when you run or maybe some other activity. I am also looking for a treatment to speed up recovery so as I can do my runs. I have 1 half marathon and 1 full in 2 weeks time. I have not gone long enough distant to do a tapering yet.
so lets try some of this treatment and hope it helps
 

What can the athlete do about shin splints?

  • Rest to allow the injury to heal.
  • Apply ice or cold therapy in the early stages, particularly when it is very painful. Cold therapy reduces pain and inflammation.
  • Stretch the muscles of the lower leg. In particular the tibialis posterior which is associated with shin splints.
  • Wear shock absorbing insoles in shoes. This helps reduce the shock on the lower leg.
  • Maintain fitness with other non weight bearing exercises such as swimming, cycling or running in water.
  • Apply
    heat and use a heat retainer or shin and calf support after the initial
    acute stage and particularly before training. This can provide support
    and compression to the lower leg helping to reduce the strain on the
    muscles. It will also retain the natural heat which causes blood
    vessels to dilate and increases the flow of blood to the tissues to aid
    healing.

at the moment I am only using the method RICE, which stands for Rest, Ice, Compression and last but not least Elevation *which dont think will help shin*split*

Here are two stretches that I do to ease my shins.

Anyway hope to be running soon again, catch ya later on more updates on running measurements

Leave a Reply

