Zipp 404 or Mavic Ksyrium

I have started sourcing for my parts on my “PartsbyParts” project, this is in fact a project that was long overdue, So whats this “PartsbyParts” project I am talking about?   Its for poor people who can’t afford to buy the whole bike at one go, no I am just kidding, its a project where I buy a Part a Month till I finish building the whole bike to my specification.

So to see a good clear view of the bike parts that I need to buy, this would illustrate it better for the masses

I have already sourced for the frame and it will be ordered by end of this month, don’t ask me yet what it is .. but I will show you guys the after the end when the bike is fully / finally built-up,

but as for the moment I have a big dilemma in which the wheel sets selection is killing me, I have narrowed it all down to two brands. I really need your opinion on this.

Wait I have to tell u why I have selected this two models, not just esthetic wise but also in performance wise. I need a strong rim that can go fast as well as climb hard. . . . . So what models are they ? 1st up

MAVIC KSYRIUM SLR 2012

SSC Wheel-Tyre System: the pros choice
Optimized Wheel-Tyre System: GripLink / PowerLink
Superior endurance: Exalith
Distinctive full black – SSC graphics

Highly responsive
High energy transfer: Tracomp technology
Less inertia for the same stiffness: ISM machining
Low rolling resistance: Yksion PowerLink

The lightest Ksyrium ever: 1400g
Light and stiff rims: ISM + Exalith
Light yet resistant components: Carbon and Zicral bladed spokes, carbon front hub, Maxtal rims

Weight (pair of wheels with tyre – WTS): 1990 grams
front wheel: 635 grams
pair of wheels: 1400 grams
front wheel with tyre – WTS: 930 grams

And the 2nd model needs no introduction and I am only gonna post one picture of it, just in case you guys have not seen it which I doubt.

ZIPP 404 Clinchers

If you guys have any feedback on the wheelsets that I have mentioned above, I am glad to take it in, or even if you have known another brand that is even better task at what I am looking for,  do let me know as your comments will be greatly appreciated.

I am kinda leaning towards the Ksyrium cause of the Mavic’s Exalith treatment. The bike I am building is mostly B0B which means black on black. I heard there is surface braking problems exp: NOISE.

4 responses

  1. Sounds like a cool project ! I am eager to see the finished bike

    Like

    20/06/2012 at 8:52 pm

    • Yeah, I can’t wait for it be all built up too, I miss riding a roadie.. love the lung busting hills ! What do you personally recommend? Zipp or Mavic ?

      Like

      20/06/2012 at 9:52 pm

      • Honestly, i have no idea. Have not personally tried either brand.

        Like

        20/06/2012 at 10:04 pm

      • What are you using now ? just gathering feedback

        Like

        21/06/2012 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

