The Journey of a new Triathlete

Training partners are always great in terms of being motivated and seeking advise.. no matter doing triathlon, Ironman or Ultra running, that is why I frequently used this hashtag #foreveralone cause I am more often than not alone when doing training.

Training for an event demands much from an athlete such as mental focus and more importantly discipline in all aspect of schedule, diet and workout.

I met Zurairi by chance, one day when I was training but I will not expound on that part, as he already had explain of our moment in his featured article.  Do read up on his write-up as guest post on his determination to be a Triathlete (if you say you can’t, this post might change you)  Do follow him on Twitter @arieternity where he shares his passion for triathlon.

Guest Writer:  Zurairi (Singapore) 27 August 2012

My Journey to be Triathlete

After my Kidney Transplant in 2008, (Previous post) , I decided to exercise because my doctor told me to control my cholesterol level.  I also wanted to exercise because keeping fit and healthy will ensure lesser complications due to my condition. After 3 months rest from the post operation, I realise my fitness level is very low after I was struggling and panting after climbing the flight of steps at the overhead  bridge. I realise that I need to start soon.

I started with very light jogging around my neighbourhood.  It was about 1.2km route around my block of flats.  My friend also introduced me to swimming. Mr Razib is a triathlete and he taught and coached me the techniques of swimming freestyle. In 2008, I started with swimming front crawl breadth wise along the pool. With commitment to improve on my technique, I made the trip to the pool 3 times a week. I started to swim 15m breadth-wise and now I’m able to swim 1500m.

For running, I have my wife to thank because since I decided to start jogging, she would also join me in my runs. We started with jogging around our neighbourhood. We started with 3 round, basically it’s about 3km. We sometimes jog at east coast to enjoy the longer route.

Gradually, we increase the distance bit by bit and both of us can now jog about 12km in a single training session. We also took part in most of the runs for example the Race against Cancer 2012, Run for Hope 2012, Real Run, Nike We run Sg to name a few.

Currently both of us are training for our first half marathon.

Mr Razib asked me, since I can swim and run. Why don’t I join the triathlon events? I was interested. However, I do not have a bicycle. But that did not stop me.

On December 2010, I signed up for TriBob Aquathlon, Duathlon and Triathlon 2011. I have signed up for a Duathlon and a Triathlon without a bicycle.

In February 2011, my wife and I bought our road bicycle. Since we have a bicycle we took part in the OCBC cycle 2011 and my wife also signed up for TriBob Duathlon

While I was cycling around my neighbourhood, one of the days, I met a cyclist on the road. Little did I know that he’ll be my cycling coach and motivator. Yes, the author of this blog Mr Isaac Loo. He’s an incredible guy and really motivates me. I had no experience riding a road bicycle but he was there to teach me the techniques of cycling. Not only that, he’s also an Ironman Triathlete, so he also taught me techniques in running and swimming as well.

I am very lucky to have very supportive family members and friends who have seen me through this journey. I would not have achieved 3 triathlon medals in 2011 without their support and motivation.

It has been a fantastic journey for me and I will continue with this passion.

13 responses

  1. Congratulations for the medals!!
    Have a good early morning!
    Blessings,
    -Naima.

    Like

    27/08/2012 at 12:21 pm

    • you know thats not me ! haha .. have a good week!

      Regards
      Isaac

      Like

      28/08/2012 at 10:15 am

      • Hahaha 😀
        Yeah, I do now!!!
        -Naima.

        Like

        28/08/2012 at 11:49 am

  2. Congrats bro 🙂

    Like

    27/08/2012 at 5:57 pm

    • Will thanks @Arieternity for ya …

      Regards
      Isaac

      Like

      28/08/2012 at 9:20 am

      • You’re most welcome bro 🙂

        Like

        28/08/2012 at 9:39 pm

  3. great motivation for a monday morning.

    Like

    27/08/2012 at 7:41 pm

    • thank you Beth …

      Regards
      -isaac

      Like

      28/08/2012 at 9:20 am

  4. Pingback: Motivation and Feedback in Coaching (rev 1) « pinoyathletics.com

  5. Magnificent website. Lots of helpful information here. I’m sending it to a few buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you to your effort!

    Like

    10/09/2012 at 6:20 pm

  6. Pingback: Motivation (video) | pinoyathletics.com

  7. Pingback: Mizuno Wave Musha 5 Review “Isaac’s 2 cents” | Everything Swim Bike and Run and the Occasional Life Encounters

  8. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

    Like

    25/04/2014 at 2:20 am

Leave a Reply

