A tough decision for me ..

It’s been a crazy month for me with my training for all my runs especially the upcoming TNF50, If you guys didn’t know I sprained the sole of my foot on my regular weekend training three weeks ago. I feel terrible and I feel depressed to be honest.

I don’t wish for any athlete to be injured especially those who is full of energy or those that needs to pent out their frustration and focus on their training.
I am a good mix of both. When your reading this a good amount of people is already sleeping and getting ready for the Army Half Marathon. I have made a resolution to run a 1hr50min half marathon before the year ends. (looks like that is not going to happen for me this year)

I have considered long and hard so I went out for a real run to test my foots injury yesterday, I could still run a 5min pace but not for long cause of my injury and no training for three weeks. This morning I woke up limping again so I have decided to forgo this dream of 1hr 50min, its been really hard for me, but I am just praying that it will heal fast for the event that I am aiming for which is the Singapore Triathlon in 2 weeks time.

My training has been only swim and bike.. no runs. but this decision is true for me for I have thought for the longest time.

My doctor cleared me, and I tried to run.. the pain is just terrible, not everyone will understand how I feel.. but as I say

I am sorry this post is not that motivating or even funny to end with .. I promise I will be back.

Train Hard, Race Harder

17 responses

  1. I definitely understand. I have messed around for years with Plantar Fasciitis so painful I could only shuffle through the house when I first woke, stabbing pain in my heel with each step. It finally got better and I had 6 great months…and messed up my hamstring. I’m biking and swimming, and I’m getting better, but it can be so very frustrating and, honestly, depressing. Hang in there!!

    Like

    08/09/2012 at 11:54 pm

    • Love your words of encouragement… 6 months and you are really patient, well to be honest, I did do short runs but its always the same waking up the next day with that sharp pain feeling.

      Its usually me doing the motivating, but its nice to be motivated by others. really appreciate it.

      Like

      09/09/2012 at 12:00 am

      • That’s why I think runners are so awesome – they are always there for each other. Best of luck and heal quickly!

        Like

        09/09/2012 at 12:59 am

  2. Also, I ‘liked’ the post even though I don’t like that you’re injured.

    Like

    08/09/2012 at 11:54 pm

    • Hey Terri

      Nah its ok … just knowing that I can’t be as mobile or as agile as I was, really suck dirt. but no worries.. I wish for no one to be injured not even animals.

      Have a awesome weekend.

      Cheers
      Isaac

      Like

      08/09/2012 at 11:59 pm

  3. Hang in there buddy! Rootin’ for ya.

    Like

    09/09/2012 at 12:11 am

    • Thanks Fairy… it is very tough for me … but all your encouragement really do help..

      Have a great Nike run

      Cheers
      Isaac

      Like

      09/09/2012 at 12:13 am

  4. Sorry to hear about your injury bro, don’t worry you can always try again in the next Triathlon.. what you got to do right now is to recover fully and not to put more pressure into your injury.. 🙂

    Like

    09/09/2012 at 2:32 am

    • Thanks for the encouragement bro .. yeah .. yesterday was just a run, I am aiming for the triathlon coming up in 2 weeks time.

      Cheers
      Isaac

      Like

      10/09/2012 at 9:21 am

  5. O, Isaac, I’m so sorry to read this….but you are doing the right thing by not stressing it. Been there, didn’t do that…and paid the price…for years. You take care of yourself…if I was there I would make you some miso soup with udon… Keep up the cross training, and good luck with the recovery!

    Like

    09/09/2012 at 3:59 am

    • OoOooHhhhh… Miso and Udon maybe with some Almond butter and Jelly would soothe the pain and ache. LoL
      your so sweet. Thank you for the suggestion.

      The only thing I can do now is swim or bike that wont have a direct impact on my feet.

      Thanks again. Cheers
      Isaac

      Like

      10/09/2012 at 9:23 am

  6. I hope you get better it may not be positive to you but it is motivating to me! If you can push through the pain we all can.. 🙂 Even when we do not have injuries as severe as yours..

    Like

    09/09/2012 at 10:30 am

    • Hey Savynaturalista,

      I will definitely do, thanks for the encouraging words.. I dont wish for anyone to have injuries in any manner, its such a problematic thing to go through.

      You have a great week ahead now.

      Cheers
      Isaac

      Like

      10/09/2012 at 9:43 am

  7. @Isaac read your blog post. I understand how you feel. Don’t push yourself yet till you recover fully. U”ll be back stronger and faster

    Like

    09/09/2012 at 1:35 pm

  8. Nicole

    hey dude, you did not miss much, not a very good route, or too many participants…i dont know..but several human traffic jams along the way.. so you may not have achieve your desired timing too 😉
    take care! relax & let your body heal

    Like

    09/09/2012 at 2:01 pm

    • Hey Nicole,

      Yeah so I heard, lots of complains regarding bottle neck.. the event has grown in proportion and now it is becoming like a 2nd SCSM

      Wont be joining this one next year then. Have a great week ahead

      Cheers
      Isaac

      Like

      10/09/2012 at 9:44 am

  9. Pingback: Confirmado: Nuevo tipo de enlace químico - ¡Ciencia Perra!

Leave a Reply

