Do you train with Music ?

This post came about cause I saw @runfairyrun recent blog post on her Salomon X-trail run. One of her picture shows her running with headphones on.

 There is even a certain rule amongst serious runner saying that music and running doesn’t mix, it is what separates the runners and the joggers, and it’s why some Marathon races ban music devices

I would say that using music in my training helps but come race day, the headphones stays in the car cause I still need it to calm my nerves, not that I am going to be doing a 2:20 Marathon but it helps.

An athlete or exerciser whose goal during warm-up is elevating the heart rate to 120 beats per minute should select accompanying music that has a tempo in the range of 80–130 beats per minute. Successive tracks should create a gradual rise in music tempo to match the intended gradual increase in heart rate. Moreover, segments of music can be tailored to various components of training, so that, for example, work time and recovery time are punctuated by music that is alternately fast and loud or slow and soft

One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain. – Bob Marley

I have tracks for slow runs, speedworks, tempo runs, LSD and emotional runs (don’t ask what that means) .  I have a whole arsenal of Mp3 players but today I usually run with my Blackberry cause I have this EndoMondo app install where it tracks my position, speed and timing average. I have to say its pretty cool cause its bundle in with a player in that app. Will do another review on that software some time soon.

The Columbus Marathon site came out with this running track list which I think is pretty cool, they did a poll on Twitter and Facebook and the below music list was top favorites for most participants.

• Aerosmith – “Walk This Way”
• Bruce Springsteen – “Born To Run”
• Jay-Z – “Run This Town”
• Dixie Chicks – “Ready To Run”
• Flock of Seagulls – “I Ran”
• Katrina and the Waves – “Walking On Sunshine”
• The Proclaimers – “(I Would Walk) 500 Miles”
• Bruno Mars – “Runaway Baby”
• Van Halen – “Running With The Devil”
• Iron Maiden – “Run To The Hills”
• The Ventures – “Walk, Don’t Run”
• Martha Reeves and the Vandellas – “Nowhere to Run”
• The Bangles – “Walk Like An Egyptian”

Did you know that rocking out to music while you run/walk can increase your endurance by 15 % – Tip #9 of the Columbus Marathon

Wanna wish Good luck to all the participant of the Columbus Marathon happening this 21 October 2012

I wanna know your favourite track that you listen to before you go for your run, that is if you do your training with music.

Mines “Stronger by Kanye West”

Related articles

Gizmodo: Marathons Start Banning Music Players For ‘Safety’, ‘Fairness’

The NY Times: A marathon without music? Runners with headphones balk at policy

12 responses

  1. It is true, I am a relatively new runner, so here is my two cents based on my own understanding of this topic.

    It is not entirely clear in your post what the rationale behind the “rule” is regarding listening to music during a marathon. While it is easy to claim that it “separates the serious runners from the joggers” (that sounds almost snobbish) and that “running and music do not mix”, the real reason why some marathons ban headphones is due to hearing-related safety hazards for the runners (e.g. not being able to hear the race marshals give specific instructions, etc). In some cases music is even said to give runners a competitive advantage because it increases the threshold of the senses to pain. Who knows.

    Listening to music is a personal choice and I am not embarrassed to be caught on camera with my earphones on, that is just the way I deal with races. I know not to put the volume up loud, only just enough for me to be able to listen to music AND my surroundings. And that’s the way I like it. I race to have fun and listening to music makes it “funner”, darn it. That is not to say I will not ever consider racing sans-headphones, occasionally the headphones feel cumbersome so I snag them off and listen to whatever nature conjures up during my leisure run. Or jog. 🙂

    Like

    10/10/2012 at 6:37 pm

    • Hi Fairy, yup, what you said is true, have a great weekend

      Like

      13/10/2012 at 2:17 pm

  2. Nicole

    I have to run with music! 🙂
    Favourites at the moment are Fly by Nicki Minaj & What Doesn’t Kill You by Kelly Clarkson

    Like

    10/10/2012 at 8:50 pm

    • isaac976

      OoOo… ok .. will add that to my list ..

      Thanks
      Isaac976

      Like

      10/10/2012 at 8:51 pm

  3. Increases endurance by 15%–that’s interesting. I use the headphones as a treat but mostly run without. I like to start a 5k race wtih Ja Ho from the Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack. And if I’m going really long—at around mile 9 I like to hear Adina Howard’s song Freak Like Me. 🙂

    Like

    10/10/2012 at 8:58 pm

    • isaac976

      Jai ho can always get me moving on the dance floor for sure.. will load those song into my music player too. I love running with headphone, them artist are my buddies on those long runs

      Have a Ironman World Championship weekend. 🙂

      Cheers
      Isaac976

      Like

      10/10/2012 at 9:03 pm

      • triathlonobsession

        You too! Note that Freak Like Me seems so and groovy but the beat is a great pacer for longer runs. Sounds like we’ll both be watching our Superbowl online–have a great one too! Elizabeth

        Like

        10/10/2012 at 9:06 pm

  4. I train listening to music, using a sansa fuze. Have not done a race yet so I do not know if I will bring the player with me or not on race day. I know triathlons ban earphones due to hazzard and warning issues, so maybe I should race without the headphones. I don’t have a specific track, usually listen to this podcast: http://www.indiesouprunner.com/ and sometimes my custom mix. This morning, an xx song came on just as I was nearing the end of my run, perfect music to bring the run home!

    Like

    10/10/2012 at 9:31 pm

    • isaac976

      A classic track is Survivor – Eye of the Tiger, If I am in a middle of a run and low on fuel, if that music comes up, its a sure booster.

      Can you imagine that I run with Adele on my Long runs. Totally help me regulate my heart rate.

      Have a good run
      Isaac976

      Like

      10/10/2012 at 9:49 pm

  5. I used to trained with music too, my playlist is a kind of mix of hip-hop, industrial, trance, metal.. lol !!It really helps if you are running alone, but you cannot blast your Mp3 though. I’ve accounted a few incidents where cyclist try to overtake me and I got shocked.. lol

    Like

    11/10/2012 at 5:07 pm

    • dangerous stuff dude, I bike with music too cause 100km ride alone without music is crazee.. volume is so soft that I can hear anything coming from the side.

      Weekend is here, HAve a good one bro

      Like

      12/10/2012 at 10:41 pm

      • Thanks bro, you too 🙂

        Like

        13/10/2012 at 2:00 am

Leave a Reply

