Chrissie Wellington, You will be missed !!

TYR poster

TYR poster

I was shocked when I read on my timeline that Lady Chrissie is retiring / giving up on Ironman a couple of days ago.. to me she was someone that shook the world of Ironman and kinda made it more inspiring to complete an Ironman event, Ironman event it self is famous as it is and there are so many popping out everywhere.. I bet once I drop Chrissie’s name on any triathlete they would know who she is.

Who would not notice her trademark smiles, determination and passion, She has relentlessly promoted this sports and many girls/women took notice of Ironman/Triathlon in the past few years, to me she has this aura of happiness around her when she races or when she speaks to people (not that I have met her but through photographs and video). I am writing this post because she will be dearly missed by lots of girls and guys out there, she gave inspiration to many as she is a role model and idol for most of us.  Who is gonna reign on her spot this time.

On her website Wellington wrote: “Over the past 12 months I have had time to reflect and think, about my past and, of course, also of my future. Being a professional ironman athlete has been one of the greatest experiences of my life. I have achieved more than I could have ever imagined, and been so fortunate to travel to some beautiful places, compete against the best in the world, and forge many lasting friendships. Those life-changing experiences and memories will stay with me forever.

As an athlete I sought ‘the perfect race’. That race within myself where I dug to the depths mentally and physically, and that hard-fought race with my competitors. The World Ironman Championships in 2011 was the icing on the cake for me as an athlete. It was my ‘perfect race’ and it ‘completed’ me.

My passion for the sport hasn’t waned, but my passion for new experiences and new challenges is what is now burning the most brightly. Hence, I have got to the point where I know that it is right for me to retire from professional ironman distance racing.”

To me Crowie and Natasha Badmann is my all time favourite athlete in the world of Ironman.

2 responses

  1. I agree. I’m terribly sad to hear that Chrissie is retiring. I was lucky enough to tweet with her earlier this year. She is such an inspiration to me.

    Like

    05/12/2012 at 1:21 pm

    • Yeah, I saw that on my tweet time line too, well all good things do come to an end, in order for new legends to turn up she has to move on, She isn’t named “Chrissinator” for nothing.

      My best bet was Rinny for last year World Championship but ……. that’s another story altogether.

      Train Hard, Race Harder
      Isaac

      Like

      05/12/2012 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

