5 Lies You Believe About Ultra Marathons

Running in Ultra Marathon is definitely not easy, running a marathon itself is not easy, as people say respect the distance and I surely believe in that phrase. Here are 5 lies that you will hear from runners wanting to do Ultra

1. I can’t run an ultra yet—I’m not in my best shape.

I’ve seen some epic love handles and beer bellies cross the finish line at several ultras. And although not all runners are visibly out of shape, many do have a target area that is far from perfect—flabby bits or underdeveloped muscles. If you’re waiting to be in the best shape of your life, you will never run an ultra. (Remember there is always Fat Fit)

Running with extra weight is far from easy, whether it is bulky muscle weight or fat. But weight has almost no effect on your potential to cross the finish line. This finish line is about mental strength and raw determination. Don’t worry about achieving perfect fitness. The more you run ultras, the more your body will adapt to running ultras. Then before you know it, your body will be perfect for…running ultras

I myself is far from having those chiseled abs or a body close to model or godlike, I am just any regular Joe on the street.

2. If I’m running in the back of the pack, I’m in the wrong training group.

Many runners are embarrassed or ashamed to bring up the rear, to the point that they will switch training groups. But I’m not here to impress anyone—I’m here to get better, and I want to do it as fast as possible within my own time limits, In a race or any given race I am my own challenge.

Struggling to keep up with a strong group is how I’ve grown. Fast. I’ve picked up tips and invaluable knowledge that might have taken me years to learn otherwise, and it also keeps me extremely humble. I have ran with people faster and also I have run with people who are just picking up running.

Obviously there’s a limit—you don’t want people waiting forever for you to catch up. But your own common sense and/or pride will prevent you from hitting any extremes. I’m referring to runners who are only a few minutes behind the second-last person, assume the group is too fast for them, and leave.

I want people in front of me, driving me forward. I want to be friends with people who can kick my ass any day of the week, who are better trained, and have more experience. The rewards are far better in last place than in first. There is tremendous opportunity to advance. The day I’m the best runner is the day that I didn’t learn anything.

3. I’m too old to start running ultras.

Age in ultra running means grace, wisdom, and respect. You are admired and consulted for advice. If you watch an older ultra runner, there is a calm and carefree aura around them. It’s like they know every step of every trails, what’s underneath every rock, and the location of every bug.

Their sense of direction is inhumanly sharp, and you get the feeling that if you were to ditch them in the middle of nowhere on the other side of the world, they would run back and ring your doorbell in about a week. Other sports cut you off after a certain age. In this sport, you become a legend.

4. After I finish an ultra, everyone will admire and praise me.

The runners who give off a vibe of “Hey, look at me!” generally don’t stick with ultras. This is because if your goal is social acceptance and praise, there are much easier ways to get it.

When you run a marathon, all your non-running family and friends think you’re a superstar. They might meet you at the finish line, talk about you with pride, and tell you how awesome you are. Come on for crying out loud, why do people want social acceptance when running ultra, like I said in point 2.. we are our own challenge. I race myself to better my time and nothing more.

To me running an Ultra is more like a spiritual journey and pushing my mental ability, I tell my tri group buddies that running ultra is nothing but a few more clicks down the road, and yes they have all signed up for the TMBT 2013. All five of us will be running it and I am so glad.

5. It doesn’t appear that anyone else is struggling as much as I am. I must not belong.

The ultra distance is hard to get your mind around. That’s why people give ultra runners puzzled looks. But once you break down that wall, run your first ultra, run your second ultra, and then realize you’re hooked—all those lies you believed about yourself are exposed. And it’s easier to see yourself as you really are—strong, courageous, and able.

Well anyway Happy New Year again, This weekend bike and run for the first week of the year ! hope you are all having a blast

Train Hard, Race Harder

12 responses

  1. Awesome post bro, Good luck with your competition.

    Like

    04/01/2013 at 5:25 pm

    • thanks man .. yeah long more to go .. gonna slowly run to that event !but its not the first event I’ve signed up ..

      Like

      04/01/2013 at 6:14 pm

      • Cool bro 🙂

        Like

        04/01/2013 at 6:17 pm

  2. I am the support crew for my house of Ultra Runners… I have a great time doing that….. Interesting , my favorite fellow support crew was from your area ; Sam & Pete who support Suzanne Bond. Great people.

    Like

    05/01/2013 at 6:05 am

    • I thank you for being a support crew, and to all the volunteers out there, most runners never thank them, but I can’t thank them enough cause without them the show wont go on..

      Like

      05/01/2013 at 10:31 am

  3. Ultras have always intrigued me….one time when speed definitely doesn’t matter…perfect for an old woman….

    Like

    06/01/2013 at 7:07 pm

    • speed never matters… see Fauja can do it .. any one can do it .. 🙂

      Like

      06/01/2013 at 7:11 pm

      • Of course you are right…speed never matters…participating is what really matters. Good luck to you in your ultra by the way!

        Like

        06/01/2013 at 7:16 pm

      • Thanks you .. but my start to the year is not going smooth 😦

        Like

        06/01/2013 at 8:46 pm

  4. Food is my only motivation.

    Like

    09/01/2013 at 11:29 am

    • u know what? when I run long distance.. half way through KM 20 or so .. I would be thinking of a fat juicy burger and coke always .. No kidding !

      Like

      09/01/2013 at 11:37 am

    • You know what? when I run long distance, half way through my run about 20km or so I would be thinking of juicy burgers and a cold glass of coke to wash it down. No Kidding ..

      Like

      09/01/2013 at 11:40 am

Leave a Reply

