What Happened to Life?

Have you ever wondered what you want to be when you grow up ?

Are we suppose to know what we want to be when we grow up? like when you are 6 years old and the teacher asked you in class.. (insert name) what do you want to be when you grow up? and (insert name) says I want to be a Astronaut, Race Car Driver.. etc..etc.. Well I sure hell don’t know what I still want to be now. Life has so many possibilities and its so dynamic that it changes every now and then. We are a person that has so many factors affecting us everyday in our life decision.

We can plan and arm ourselves with goals and aspiration but things affect us like family, friends, time, strangers, forums and now even worst.. this thing called the  “INTERNET” .  I can tell you  internet is a sure wonder of the world, heck Award it the NOBLE PRIZE for all I know, without it you wouldn’t be able to read this right now. The internet sure has gotten us all up to speed in fact too fast for my liking. Life is not slowing down. People are not spending enough time with their families, children and friends.

I am not sure if you realize this, but I feel that everyone these days are so impatient. On the walking pathway, on the road.. etc..etc.. I do blame this on the connectivity of Internet that we have. Remember how we receive our mails in the past? not electronic for sure but snail mail, wasn’t it a joy when you got your hand written mail to you from your pen pal from another country (do they still have that).  These days its just WHAM BAM THANK MA’AM no thanks to Skype, Viber, Tango, Kik, Chat Roulette, Google Voice, Grasshopper, VoXoX, Vbuzzer.. I can go on and on with just VoIP and I have not started with the instant messaging. The art of hand written letters are long gone,

Everything seems so instant, Does the word “Stop and smell the roses” means anything anymore?  I see families with many kids but parents that has no time to play with them. I see friends living in the same town but yet only manage to meet up on their BUSINESS trips in other countries.  I see neighbors but I don’t see smiles. What’s Happening World ?? really What’s Happening?

Just expressing this feeling I have in my heart, I want to share “The Paradox of Our Age” with you.

Paradox of our Time by Dalai Lama

So please take some time off, spend it with the people dearest to you, have a good look at them, cherish the moment. What ever hatred you have with them forgive and forget. Life is too short for all the squabble and fights.

Life is not all about making BIG Bucks but rather spending BIG Laughter with your loved one. Do share , reblog , re-tweet , stumbleupon if you agree with “The Paradox of Our Age”  some where along the line.

7 responses

  1. kruzmeister

    It is certainly the age of instant gratification among many. That’s why I love heading out into nature with my camera, you cannot tell nature what to do or how fast to do it, you must be patient in order to see her glory, and some times it’s revealed and sometimes it isn’t, but when it is, it certainly is worth the wait. The pity is that a lot of people will never see it because they are too busy with their heads stuck to their phones or iPads. Not that I am against technology, but like you say, life is all about stopping to smell the roses. Sorry went on a bit of a rant there! LOL! Have a happy weekend Isaac! – Simone

    Like

    13/04/2013 at 6:26 pm

    • You got me on the spot.. that’s what I have been feeling recently and actually for a long time now when I came to Singapore, people are like fast fast fast.. this this his that that that .. what you wear what you have? like WHO CARES !! I just want a life that I can spend time with my family with just enough .. and my enough is living just comfortable.

      Been toying to head down to Aussie, NZ or Canada.. Need to breathe. Not that I can’t take the fast pace but really … BREATHE ..

      Like

      13/04/2013 at 8:17 pm

  2. So poignant in light of the events at Boston yesterday, Isaac….

    Like

    16/04/2013 at 8:38 pm

    • its such a tragedy =( why must they do this ? what is their motivation in this? are they dumb or what?

      Like

      16/04/2013 at 9:24 pm

      • Who can know the mind of a madman?
        Why your post is so spot-on…live…really live….every day.

        Like

        16/04/2013 at 9:32 pm

      • Its actually how I am feeling for the longest time now, I want to move to Colorado or Canada someday.. for good… I am even considering NZ.. I just want to earn a decent life and spend most of my times with my families, thats all. 🙂 Life is so much more to materialism.

        Like

        16/04/2013 at 9:42 pm

  3. Terrific article! That is the kind of info that are supposed to
    be shared across the internet. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this post higher!

    Like

    11/05/2013 at 6:25 am

Leave a Reply

