Lightest Road Bike in the World

This month we are celebrating Tour De France  and I will be dedicating everything on two wheels.  I love to see things in motion and have been fascinated with bikes or actually anything on wheels for as long as I can remember and I still love riding my bikes through the hot summer days. Well Singapore ONLY has two season the hot and rainy one that is.

I remember riding a trike when I was 2 or 3 years old and then when I was older I got a BMX from my parents and everything went crazy after that. I love the time riding out with my buddies at 3 am just to feel the cool breeze, so far I have owned a couple of number of bikes from BMX, MTB, Roadbike, Tri-bike, vintage bikes and I am still currently building a monster of a bike which I am targeting to be sub 6kg

when it comes to losing weight it takes a lot of effort to be counting calories to lose weight, this applies also to bikes as well, I have to watch what I buy. LOL I am counting everygram and the bike below gives me inspiration. Am not looking to buy a bike off the rack as it will take the fun away from building your own bike. When it is done, I will post up the full completed bike. (hopefully its finished by end of the year) 

Check out the below bike that has already been through a diet and is pretty slim. introducing Stevens Comet only weighing in at 5kg or a little over 11 lbs , amazing

 

Stevens Comet

Perched on scales to reveal its staggeringly low total weight of 5.07kg, the Comet is an absolute beaut. It’s not going to be seen in the pro peloton anytime soon at this weight, but this 9,990 Euro number is going to be the pride of weight weenies everywhere. It comes complete with full SRAM Red groupset, Ritchey Super Logic cockpit components and Xentis Squad 2.5 Tubular wheels.

x: x

 

But wait if you were in amazement of that 5kg bike ? Please don’t crap in your pants when you hear that there is a lighter bike, in fact it is so light you can say 6 cans of coke will be heavier than it,  lightest bike in the world weighs in at only 2.7kg, yup you heard it right? its only 2.7kg or 5.9 pounds. Amazing wonders…

In all its minimal glory, the 2.7kg Spin Custom Light Bike.

In 2008, a German named Gunter Mai stunned the cycling world by building the lightest road bike ever made. The initial build of his light bike tipped the scales at just under 3.2 kg, and he eventually tuned it down even more to roughly 2.8kg. And it was no mere show bike; Mai reportedly logged over 20,000km on the machine in its first couple years. But he shocked the cycling commumity again when, early this year, he suddenly parted out the entire bike and sold each piece individually, scattered to the four winds.

But some of the key parts made it into the hands of a Colorado rider who wanted to reincarnate the anorexic beast, and he sent off the custom Spin frame, THM fork, the stem/handlebars, and a few more parts to Jason Woznick of Fairwheel Bikes in Tuscon, Arizona. There, Woznick set to work sourcing the lightest parts available to finish off the build. Almost every part on the bike is completely custom, and cannot be purchased off the shelf anywhere, for any price.

Holding the machine is truly breathtaking. There’s nothing to it. Even picking up another object of similar weight isn’t quite illustrative, because, for example, a gallon of milk is very dense (and also two pounds heavier). Picking up a six-pound bike is different — it simply feels like nothing is there.

Full story can be found here at  TriRigs.com website.

4 responses

  1. kruzmeister

    All I can say is WOW! 🙂

    Like

    05/07/2013 at 2:14 pm

    • Definitely WOW for sure. its amazing how people can push the boundaries of weight on a bicycle.. would you be interested in one as well ?

      Like

      05/07/2013 at 7:12 pm

  2. lol….and I’m riding a small dinosaur in my upcoming tri…if my scales are right, a whopping 15kg!

    Like

    05/07/2013 at 10:10 pm

    • Gramma, you know its not the bike.. its the spirit of sport that counts and I can’t say that enough. I hope all is good in your coming Tri. Break A Leg and take more pic !

      Great day to you too, Isaac

      Like

      09/07/2013 at 1:30 pm

Leave a Reply

