New Balance Minimus Hi-Rez , Isaac’s 2 cents

Its been a months or so since getting my hands on one of New Balance latest shoe the New Balance HI-REZ and I HATE IT, I hate the fact that its so comfortable and responsive.

Seriously never have I seen a shoe that so minimal and so responsive. I kept staring at that glaring orange thingamajig at the NB concept store at Novena and wonder to myself why would anyone buy this shoe? I touched and I twisted the shoe, yeah so what if its so flexible like in their ad, so what if it has the individual 43 pods stuck under this shoe… Well IT ALL CHANGED when I got my hands on a pair and ran with it. Hear me out..

The shoe undoubtedly offers a unique running experience and I have to say this is one experience I have never felt, I have the a NB Minimus MR-00 and I had trouble adjusting to that shoe in my runs, I never looked eye to eye with minimal shoes all along. and that’s what made me stood in front of this Hi-Rez shoe and analyze for like the longest time.

When the box arrived from the courier, I was wondering what it was as it was light as a feather, you can’t blame me as this shoe only weighs in at 3.7oz, but I knew it was the Hi-Rez cause it says NB, without hesitation I ripped it apart (the box) in great excitement (you can see me doing that in my Unboxing)

Hi Rez performance is no doubt amazing, I went for a couple of run and I am still impressed with it, (I still have my old injury) and when I wore this for my runs, amazingly the pain under my soles did not suffice, well most runs these days are short 5k’s and nothing more than that, the flexibility of this shoe is incredible and its not those that will twist your leg kinda flexibility but of rather a skin like effect, just like a second skin.

The shoe has bounce to it which I can’t explain, those pods are barely there and it feels like a lump of rubber on your hands but I assure you it has the rebound energy of a regular running shoe. I have brought the Hi-Rez to gravel, tarmac, stone (no trails yet) and it performs great on every surface it was on. I even brought it to my recent Tokyo trip and had use it almost everyday. I used it as it was like my slipper on every occasion I get. yes its that comfortable.

New Balance really nailed it with the Hi-rez. Putting these on is like putting on a pair of slippers—the mesh lining is soft and comfortable and the uppers contour to your feet with a process the NB marketers have termed “FantomFit.” I generally prefer sock with shoes, but I am comfortable enough going without in these for shorter runs. The toe box is nice and wide, with plenty of room to wiggle your little piggys and the heel cup is pleasantly snug without feeling too tight. There is no noticeable toe spring and the toe box flexes and widens as your foot lands with each step.

I don’t believe that the pods will last as there is already signs of wears on a couple of them, I can’t imagine if I was really running in them on long runs.

“HI-REZ is unique in appearance, construction and most importantly, feel. The difference is evident in the thoughtfully-constructed sole, which is broken into individual pieces — “zones of sensitivity” as Lead Designer Chris Wawrousek calls them”

Thank you Chris, seriously Thank you.

A Glimpse into a Revolution: Minimus HI-REZ

Isaac’s 2 cents worth

PROS

  1. ULTRALIGHTWEIGHT
  2. Amazing Flexibility
  3. MESH LINING IS SOFT AND COMFORTABLE (think of a thin socks)
  4. Very Comfortable

CONS

  1. PODS will not last
  2. SMALL ROCKS and BITS WILL GET STUCK IN BETWEEN
  3. PRICEY
  4. Needs more Color Schemes for the guys (girls you got it good)

Seriously if you just want to have a cool and comfortable shoe to walk around with please go ahead and buy this, if you want a very speedy 5k run sprint, this is the shoe to go to, if you just broke your flipflops and looking for a new one, try this one (ok its abit expensive using it as a flipflop) but hey if you got the moolah, by all means. Let me know your thoughts if you already own one. Thanks for reading and have a great week! Catch ya later

Disclaimer: I am not being paid for this review and I am not obligated to write a positive review. Furthermore. Every review is based solely on me running in the pair of shoes and my personal thoughts and opinions and are not influenced by any outside factors

11 responses

  1. How much is a pair?

    Like

    30/07/2013 at 11:49 am

    • The HI-REZ is available at all New Balance Concept Stores and Running Specialty retailers at S$165. HI-REZ is only available in Men sizing in Singapore and ASEAN

      Like

      30/07/2013 at 11:56 am

  2. I love my New Balance too! I have the Minimus

    Like

    30/07/2013 at 3:03 pm

    • Hi Joyce, yes the Minimus range is quite a powerhouse, light and flexible, which Minimus do you own? the MT? or the MR? if you can, do drop by the NB store and give this a try, you will love this if you love the regular Minimus. oh ya thanks for dropping by.

      Like

      30/07/2013 at 3:15 pm

  3. This is mine! I have the purple one. I bought it because it uses the vibram sole. Do you know if the Hi Rez uses the Vibram soles as well?

    http://www.newbalance.com/Minimus-10V2/WR10-V2,default,pd.html?dwvar_WR10-V2_color=Blue_with_Diva%20Pink_and_Yellow&start=13&cgid=201000

    Like

    30/07/2013 at 3:40 pm

    • Awesome color choice.. anyway the Hi-Rez dont use Vibram but they features independent pods of cushioning, which move naturally with the foot to deliver unparalleled flexibility and underfoot sensations. Its good for Yoga or Gym.. give it a try and let me know k.

      Like

      30/07/2013 at 3:44 pm

  4. It seems you’re in love. And what? No socks too? How long shall those pods last? That’s the worry eh.

    Like

    05/08/2013 at 8:29 pm

    • Hey bro… yeah I dont run in socks, like never ever from before. well at least for training up to 20k runs, if its a race like HM and FM, I will wear em.

      as I mentioned they are the most comfortable shoes these HI-Rez are but the pods, I give em about 6 months or so if you log about 50k a week or so on tarmac

      Regards
      Isaac

      Like

      06/08/2013 at 2:58 pm

  5. Until now, if you wanted a pair of full-on, minimal cushioned barefoot shoes in the UK you were restricted to shoes from VivoBarefoot and Vibram FiveFingers. The two big player in the barefoot market, Merrell and New Balance, made great shoes but all their models were designed for the volume market where people want barefoot shoes with a bit of cushioning. In our opinion if you are serious and ambitious about becoming a skilled barefoot runner then you are better off with shoes that have minimal cushioning. These are unforgiving and make you very aware if your technique is not spot-on.

    Like

    27/08/2013 at 2:56 pm

    • Thanks for the tips, you can order most shoes online these days and not only waiting for retailers to stock shoes in the UK, if you do that, you will never be able to test all the other minimalist shoes out there.

      Like

      07/09/2013 at 8:53 pm

  6. Pingback: New Balance Freshfoam 980 Review “Isaac’s 2 cents” | Everything You Want To Know and More

Leave a Reply

