Revisiting Altitude In Malaysia (Genting Sempah)

It is 4 am, posting this out as I am waiting for Lawrence and am way too excited about this morning Ride, drove 400km up-north just to ride this morning after Cold Storage triathlon, I am about to rekindle my love for hill climb, well on bike that is, I am re-visiting Genting Sempah (pronounces as Same-Pa) after a long time with Lawrence,want to train with him for his upcoming Powerman In end October, (am not participating due to my injury) and today is also the day where the long awaited SCKLM which stands for Standard Chartered Kuala Lumpur Marathon which was postponed due to the haze, there will be thousands of runners pounding the streets of Kuala Lumpur, wishing everyone Good luck running today, I am sure there will be many PR/PB broken as there was extra training time due

(pic courtesy of: Cycling Malaysia)

If you are wondering whats Genting Sempah it is a transit town and also a mountain pass on the border of Pahang and Selangor in Malaysia. Genting Sempah is mostly known as a transit point to Genting Highland. Altitude reaches 5708 feet where its one of the Tour De Langkawi stages, but that’s Genting Highland, I am only doing Sempah which I think has only half of the elevation and last I check stands at only 2000ft, the last time I rode this place was back in early 2000 and its nearly 10 years now after seeing it again. Where I am now has no hill nor mountain, 

Every time when I am back I will try to do a hill climb as I really miss aching muscles climbing up hills, I must have so sadistic love for pain. The last time I was back I did Gunung Dato (read it here) with my mountaineering buddy Kah Wane who aspire to climb Everest Soon, I think he is moving to Nepal this coming Year. Well good luck to him. 

I know this elevation is pale in comparison to the ones in France or Boulders Colorado but hey beggars cant be choosy, Do you have a favorite Mountain that you bike up or climb up? I would like to know as I would love to add it to my list of things to visit and do, who knows we might be clinking our beer bottles at the summit. Yeah it may not be the Tour or UTMB but hey its sure is a GOOD ADVENTURE 🙂

Will I get to the peak after such a long time since I hit the Mountain pass, Will I suffer? or will Lawrence blow me on his attack ? Read on Pt 2 for more pics and video before and after our ride. Thanks for reading guys.

Similar read on Genting Sempah

Old Roots, New Routes: Keeping something in reserve 

Becoming Ironlady: Ride in Frasers Hill 

Ah Pek Rider: Gombak to Genting Sempah

update: Just saw this posting and a little thing to celebrate for the LeTua ProCycling team,

“The 19-year old part-time musician involved in the hit-and-run incident that killed Arwah Fizi has been sentenced to 6 years in jail and fined RM10,000 this morning. This is a landmark case, the first time the culprit in a hit-and-run incident in which a cyclist is the victim has received almost the maximum penalty. Our friend is gone, but at least some justice has been served”

Leave a Reply

