Mizuno Wave Sayonara First Impression

Sooner or later everyone gets to WAVE Sayonara to their competition.

Mizuno Sayonara isaac976

This is the Mizuno Wave Sayonara and it will be my weapon of choice for this upcoming Mizuno Mount Faber Run, I am honored to be able test this shoe even before its release in the Singapore Market and I have to thank VGO and World Of Sports for providing me with this fantastic shoe, and for that I would like to do a quick review before Mizuno Mount Faber 10k run (actually I already put in a couple of miles in it on the day itself)

Mizuno Wave Sayonara , how apt that it is really named in a way to let Mizuno Wave Sayonara to your competitor, I have been running in it almost everyday to and fro work, yes I am running to work now instead of my usual bike routine, This is to prepare me mentally for my upcoming Tokyo Marathon.

Here are some of my views on this shoe being it good or bad, read on if this interest you, some technical aspect I would like to share about this shoe below beside looking great, Well I got the one in Blue but this white I am featuring is prettier if you ask me.

Top Features of the Mizuno Wave Sayonara Shoes

In Mizuno’s website it says that “Mizuno’s new light training shoe featuring the new U4iC midsole. The Sayonara delivers mile after mile of light cushioned, stable fun” Oh yes I have to totally agree on this.

So whats U4ic? it is unique midsole compound that rides and cushions like Mizuno’s ap+ midsole, but is approximatley 30% lighter without any loss of comfort or performance. Amazing isnt it and do you know how light this shoe is? its approximately 190gm. Its pretty much feather light.

This is my first ever pair of Mizuno shoes and I have to say I already put in about 40plus miles on them since getting em last weekend, Did a 10k race (Trifactor) in them on the next day of getting them, click on that link if you wan to read about how slow I went on it.

First impression after putting them on, I have to say I felt this rocking motion on the shoe and It was the first thing I told Lawrence who came with me to collect my race pack, it is not a bad thing and it feels as if the rocking motion makes you want to move forward in every step. Did a quick search on the internet to learn more about this rocking motion and I found out it was what they call the “Smoothride”  Trust me this shoe really makes you go faster, This will replace my Kinvara’s for now

Smoothride
Unique approach to the sole of the shoe designed to create a smooth, rocking-chair-like transition from heel to toe on every step.

Next thing I felt was how incredibly light it felt and it was the U4ic which was explained earlier and also the G3 Sole that came along with this shoe. I really can’t believe that this shoe is only 190gm

G3 Sole
G3, a new performance outsole component that enhances traction where needed most and reduces weight.

For me running sock less has been a norm but to me I just feel the ground better and it makes me run in a more natural gait without any socks interrupting my running style, I could not understand why is this shoe so comfortable and after a couple of runs in them I took good look at the upper lining as well as the material of the shoe, as it seems to me it was made in a single piece of material and thus I found out more from their website that it Mizuno Dynamotion fit technology which is explained as:

Dynamotion Fit
Combination of shoe technologies that create an upper than moves with your foot seamlessly throughout your stride, elimination stress points and bunching for a more comfortable run.

Mizuno Wave Technology
Inspired by nature, Wave is the industry’s most effective midsole technology. Wave’s unique shape dissipates impact forces away from the foot for a smoother, more cushioned feel on every step.

AIRmesh
Breathable and Cool. AIRmesh allows each running shoe from Mizuno to maintain a high standard of breathability for the life of the shoe, and allows the foot to stay cool.

Intercool
Cool and Dry. Mizuno Intercool solves the problem of heat and humidity build-up in a running shoe, by incorporating a full-length ventilation channels.

X10
Durability and Traction. X-10 provides the most durable carbon rubber from Mizuno that allows for longer wear in high impact areas and provides more traction at heel strike.

It retails for SGD189 but it will only be in stores end of October,

This shoe has already won the Runners World Best Debut shoe (Runners World Best Debut Shoe Mizuno Wave Sayonara)
Isaac’s 2 Cents Worth

Pros

  1. Extremely Lightweight
  2. SmoothRide technology is a +1
  3. Traction on this shoe is incredible (must be the X10)
  4. Priced Right

Cons

  1. Limited Color Choice (can’t beat Saucony Kinvara’s range)
  2. 9 mm heel-toe differential (maybe its a good thing, I am used to zero drop to 4mm)

Summary of the shoe

If you are looking for a racing flat, or you just want something really fast, This is the shoe to go to.. I know this is my to go shoe for distance up to even Marathon. Its well balance and cushioned enough for it not forgetting super lightweight. Do let me know your concerns if you do have any.

About the Mizuno brand

Since its founding in 1906, Mizuno have taken special pride and pleasure in being able to take part in the exciting world of sports and in making the entire globe the stage for their activities. Their management philosophy : “To contribute to society through the advancement of sports and quality sporting goods” is clearly reflected in their strong support of numerous worldwide sports events and in our dedication to advancing sports through cutting edge research and technology. Today, the high quality products that only Mizuno produces, are relied upon by athletes throughout the world. They produce superior quality equipment for serious performance, through the artful combination of technology and craftsmanship.

7 responses

  1. Nice shoes! It seems like every company has put their shoes on a weight loss programme. If you’re used to a low heel drop, be careful – I switched back to a 9mm heel drop for my marathon training shoes earlier this year; it was ok for a while but my knees haven’t been so happy lately.

    Was the Trifactor 10k as small as the half? The half was the smallest race I’ve ever done in SG. It would have been fantastic except it didn’t go so well for me – http://genechallenged.blogspot.sg/2013/10/that-time-i-dropped-out-of-half-marathon.html

    Like

    13/10/2013 at 11:45 am

    • Hi Grace, thanks for visiting again, mua pretty versatile with any shoes, but Kinvara are the bomb and suits me most for Marathon Distance, New Balance Minimus are awesome as well.

      Read your Half Marathon no shame dropping out from race, health is more important maybe it could be you going out too fast on the first 10k ? anyway do say hi on the next race. 🙂

      Like

      13/10/2013 at 9:54 pm

  2. Pingback: Mizuno Wave Musha 5 Review “Isaac’s 2 cents” | Everything Swim Bike and Run and the Occasional Life Encounters

  3. Its be good to use this shoe for playing volleyball?

    Like

    24/02/2014 at 9:55 pm

    • Hi Allaine,

      Never really tried it, but I am sure it can be used for many other type of sports including tennis which i have used for as well, but I know volleyball compound for the soles is different from a running shoe.

      Like

      25/02/2014 at 8:25 am

  4. Pingback: Mizuno Wave Creation 14 Tried and Tested | Everything Swim Bike and Run and the Occasional Life Encounters

  5. Pingback: Mizuno Wave Rider 17 Ultraman edition | Everything Swim Bike and Run and the Occasional Life Encounters

Leave a Reply

