Kin Kin Pan Mee Killer 板面

Bet you guys have heard about the craze of the dry Ban Mian called Kin Kin Pan Mee situated at Macpherson, the long queue of 2 hours , the line forming even before the shop is opened for business and that spicy dry chili paste that is served as a side condiment.

What If I tell you that you don’t need to wait for a bowl of dry ban mian and where you can get a delectable bowl some where in the heart of the city within MRT reach.  I present to you Hao Jia Ban Mian.

Dry Ban Mian (3)As an avid fan of Ban Mian I would order Ban Mian from all over Singapore every chance I get, Girl prefers soup base while I prefer the dry. So far when it comes to Ban Mian only Qiu Lian come’s to mind.

What we usually look for in Ban Mian has to be

  1. The noodle texture which has to be QQ aka springy and al dente to the bite.
  2. Soup base has to be rich in flavor
  3. Chili sauce to accompany the noodle and lastly
  4. The after effect of MSG (if my lips sting, SORRY no 2nd visits ever)

I chance upon this place before heading of for a event and what attracted my eye to that big poster being displayed in that particular food court was this

Dry Ban Mian (5)Ok , I don’t know why is it called DRIED STIR CHILI NOODLE but that 3 chili above that word sure made me sit up and take notice, well not that I am sitting down. As a sucker for anything spicy I am up for it, anyway this picture made me think of Kin Kin Pan Mee cause of the dry chili flakes but will the picture be any good to the real thing dished up at the counter ?

Having just eaten Kin Kin last week, the taste of the noodle still lingers on my head and to the tip of my tongue, the time was 8pm into the night and lucky me there was no queue or whatsoever when I placed my order for one DRIED STIR CHILLI NOODLE (ok I want to know why is it called DRIED STIR CHILLI NOODLE??)

Everything came as it was in the poster , but for this bowl of noodle you don’t get to “FreeFlow” on the chili flakes. It will be prepared by the chef and given to you as it is which I think it is a good thing.

Dry Ban Mian (1)

Looking at the bowl served before me I wondered can it really be that good ? didn’t stir the noodle just yet but tried out the red spicy looking chili flakes, took on bit and tasted it.. to me the first ingredient that come’s to mind has to be GARLIC then comes chili next, but this chili combo is really something, its fragrant yet flavorful whilst not being overly spicy.

Mixing the bowl up with the generous amount of stewed mushroom got my saliva trickling down my mouth as you can smell the chili , mushroom and noodle all coming to become a very gorgeous dish.

First taste of this noodle got me thinking of ordering the NEXT BOWL , no kidding yes I was that greedy, but judging from the portion size this bowl is reasonably big and could fill one stomach easily. With every bite you are surely to munch into the very tasty mushroom and if you mix it well, it will very well blend with that awesome garlicky chili flakes, paste, er.. chili stir ?

Sorry no more after photo cause I really wolf down the noodle within 10mins and yes it is that good. Say good bye to waiting in line at Kin Kin Pan Mee as I rate this No.1 on my Dry Ban Mian stall , for a generous serving of noodle this only cost $4.80 a bowl

One thing that would have made the dish truly unbeatable is adding the egg, but hey maybe they are original after all.

You can get this delicious bowl of Dried Stir Chili noodle at

Where

Funan DigitaLife Mall Food Junction Level 5

Hao Jia Ban Mian Unit: #06

Getting Here

Walk: 5 mins from City Hall MRT
Hill Street:
SBS – 2, 12, 32, 51, 63, 80, 124, 142, 145, 166, 174, 174E, 197
SMRT – 61, 190, 851

North Bridge Road:
SBS – 32, 51, 63, 80, 124, 145, 166, 174, 195, 197
SMRT – 61, 851, 961

Dry Ban Mian (2)

I am already thinking of when will I be eating my next bowl there again, If you have any other Ban Mian stall that you think is worthy of trying do let me know and I would most gladly be there to try it out.

 

 

 

5 responses

  1. I used to eat at this stall when I was working nearby. The auntie calls everyone Shuai Ge and Mei Nu. Long queue haha

    Like

    06/05/2014 at 10:33 am

    • Hey Daniel , I love it..spoke to the boss yesterday (Brandon) Nice chap, He has another stall in Great World City and he just opened his Chicken rice stall just two stalls down from this stall.

      Thanks for visiting my (humble sports) blog

      Like

      06/05/2014 at 10:36 am

  2. Pamela's Online Journal

    The MacPherson outlet is near my house. Will look out. Looks yummy. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    06/05/2014 at 10:43 am

    • the Macpherson outlet has long queues, so to me I look for alternative and I found this stall which is awesome. like I mentioned in twitter, this is infact better in my books, just that no egg.

      Like

      06/05/2014 at 10:50 am

  3. suannchonglee

    Reblogged this on Edibles and commented:
    Yum!

    Like

    06/05/2014 at 11:15 pm

Leave a Reply

