Do you believe in Old Wives Tales ?

I was on my desktop checking out some reports and girl came to me say lots of white hair on you, want me to pluck it out from your head ?

I said don’t mind if you do, so it started from one strand and to another and another… it kept going and never ended I think by the time I am half way through my report she plucked out about 20 strands or so.

isaac's old man

I am like “HEY are you done yet ? She said NOPE… I told her they more you pluck the more it will GROW.. There is this Chinese saying that  “If one plucks a strand two more will grow” how true is this ? Do you believe this ?

Do you have anymore old wives tales to share?  I think it would be interesting to know..

So why does hair turn gray?

Hair follicle has a “melanogentic clock” which slows down or stops melanocyte activity, thus decreasing the pigment our hair receives. This occurs just before the hair is preparing to fall out or shed, so the roots always look pale.

There are other factors that can change the pigmentation of hair, making it lighter or darker. Scientists have divided them by intrinsic (internal) and extrinsic (external) factors:

Intrinsic factors:

  • Genetic defects
  • Hormones
  • Body distribution
  • Age
Extrinsic factors:

  • Climate
  • Pollutants
  • Toxins
  • Chemical exposure

Hair-raising facts:

  • An average scalp has 100,000-150,000 hairs.
  • Hair is so strong that each hair can withstand the strain of 100 grams (3.5 ounces). An average head of hair could hold 10-15 tons if only the scalp was strong enough!
  • Human hair grows autonomously, that is each hair is on its own individual cycle. If all our hair were on the same cycle, we would molt!
  • Hair has the highest rate of mitosis (cell division). An average hair grows 0.3 mm a day and 1 cm per month.

 

3 responses

  1. I have plenty if gray hair experience… Started going gray at just 27. Now I don’t bother fighting it. I’ve made my peace with it. I’m definitely not letting anyone pull it out as I wouldn’t have much hair left – so I don’t worry about the wives’ tales. 😉

    Like

    27/05/2014 at 5:01 pm

    • Some people are vain, my wife’s one of em, I told her that I wanna be George Clooney, let Nature take its course.

      I say its mostly Genetics I wont even bother dying my hair black if it happens. How’s the fam ? hope all is well on your side .

      Like

      27/05/2014 at 5:23 pm

      • Things are great, wife is fantastic, kids are good (if a little unruly), business is BUSY, cycling is fantastic and life is good. So good in fact, it’s pretty rare… I’m enjoying it while it’s going.

        Like

        27/05/2014 at 6:56 pm

Leave a Reply

