I Have Failed, Now What?

It’s been a while since I shared life stories, but this one is something I have to share reading it off from Linked In, This was written by Magesh Gangadharan on his life experience on failure and I find that his take away is something everyone should learn.

Yes the portrayal of India in movies is not really true especially the action genre, but one movie “3 Idiots” is one movie I totally recommend to everyone as it is as close as I would want everyone to believe life should be such. Well I am not going to do a movie review but this is a to share a real life experience which is similar to the 3 Idiots movie.

Growing up from a small town in South India I am so used to failures to a level where you can say “Failure is a Norm” for me. Growing up in a country of over 1 billion people you are always told to be academically strong, be good in studies. Coming to studies I wasn’t exceptional, I loved to play outside and naturally be curious.

When I finished my high school I scored 70% whereas one needs to get more than 98% to get admission into good professional colleges for engineering and medicine. I enrolled for a Math undergraduate degree in my town and again just barely passed the degree. You need to understand the pressure / stress I was in as people thought I was a big failure as I did not become an engineer or doctor as per to the aspirations of Indian parents.

During all of my perceived* failures by people surrounding me I figured out that in order for me to be successful I can’t follow the same approach all others are taking because there are lot many talented people than me out there.

Once you finish your bachelor’s degree you can apply for a three years master’s degree in computers which was in high demand. The entrance exam for the masters happens in your third year of undergraduate course and what I figured out was that most of the students were so busy preparing for their undergraduate exams they had little time in preparing for the entrance to the master’s.

As soon as I enrolled in my undergraduate course I laid out a strategy and action plan. I reached out to the different universities and asked them for their previous years entrance examination papers which they will send out to you for a fee. Once I received all the question papers from different universities I carefully analyzed them in detail and found that most of the universities relied on a sub set of few books to pick their questions.

My strategy got refined so if I studied these books which were not in any of the courses taught in the undergraduate courses it bettered my chances of getting into the university.

I worked on my strategy focused on entrance and paid less attention to undergraduate course and this worked. I am omitting much of the drama surrounding this. I got admitted to my master’s degree in computer science in a well reputed university.

I have repeated the strategy so many times in different situations and have worked well for me so the formula goes as simple like this.

  • Embrace failure
  • Once you fail – take a moment to think and figure out why you failed. Think out of the box.
  • Come up with a strategy.
  • Look out to see for success stories on how somebody like you has succeeded in the past. Figure out how they did it?
  • See if the same plan would work for you? See how can you tailor the plan to work for you?
  • Every time you fail you would learn something in the process. Try to connect all the dots to see the big picture.
  • In the process of trying where you want to go, new opportunities will open up and which might work for you very well than what you originally intended for.
  • Be open to new opportunities. Give it a try. Nothing bad can happen. It’s all an experience.

Do you have any similar experiences? Thoughts? If this have inspired you do comment or even liked the post.

8 responses

  1. Even though I may not agree to his strategy but I like the moral of the story. Embrace failure and don’t fail discouraged.

    Like

    30/05/2014 at 12:47 pm

    • Do you have another strategy that you can share? my working principles are pretty much close to his. Would like to hear yours

      Like

      30/05/2014 at 2:32 pm

  2. Pamela's Online Journal

    When strategy doesn’t work, change. Put down your ego. Be open, be thick-skin and ask. Come out with another formula and fine-tune the process. What works for others may not work for you. Follow your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    30/05/2014 at 6:07 pm

    • it’s always about ego in the human personality, once people can accept to let down their Ego. life is a better place

      Like

      31/05/2014 at 10:55 am

  3. You did well brother. Brilliant really, you exploited the laziness of the supposed intellectuals which is quite impressive. As to “following your heart”, what a load of meaningless crap. Follow your heart? My “heart” would have me I a beach villa in the Caribbean if my head could find someone dumb enough to give me ten million bucks so I could afford to quit working.

    Follow your head, retire while you still have a little lead left in the pencil and try to have some fun along the way. The trick is to understand that ALL jobs suck, that’s why people have to pay you to do them.

    Great post brother. 😜

    Like

    30/05/2014 at 7:03 pm

    • I too am looking for a person to give me ten million bucks and am still waiting… only person willing to give is the one who want interest.

      Caribbean ? really ? I want to be up in the mountains maybe French Alps, that way I can still ride my bike or go running.

      Like

      31/05/2014 at 10:59 am

  4. Thanks Isaac for having my linkedin post here in your blog.

    Like

    03/06/2014 at 2:26 pm

    • My Pleasure Magesh. Thanks for visiting my blog

      Like

      03/06/2014 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

