Running in Bangkok Lumphini Park

Bangkok never cease to amaze me every time I visit, I practically visit Bangkok every year without fail.. and as an avid runner, I have been running the streets of Bangkok every time without fail. If you guys have been following me on my Instagram, no matter which country I’ve visit I will most certainly share a running pic of the beautiful country that I am in through a first person perspective.

This time, I most certainly want to share a park that I never fail to run in when I am in Bangkok, while taking the opportunity to soak in the morning sun and training for my upcoming weekend race which is the Mizuno 16km Wave Run, so where better to train in Bangkok, certainly it has to be none other than Lumphini, easily one of my favourite parks in Thailand and here is why.

Lumphini Park also knonw as Lumpini or Lumpinee has a build up of  about 55 hectare park in the middle of city. This park as mentioned offers a rare open space that comes with a playground. There is a running path totaling approximately 2.5 km in length and it has water fountains equipped along side the running track. In this track you can see there is a line divided on the track with one as for runners and the other for cyclist/inline skating. Officially, cycling is only permitted during the day between the times of 10am to 3pm.

My recommendation is to run this place in the morning, where temperature is cool and before the sun peeks into the park at about 7am, the hustle and bustle of the nearby offices are just starting to get busy while all you are doing is running and breathing in at least fresher air than nearby vicinity.

Why this place is clearly a favourite of mine is that when you run this park in the morning, you will see families bringing in their kids to play, groups of tai chi, swords, fan, yoga practitioners performing their workouts. This place is like Central Park without the chills and maple tree.

Lumphini Park Bangkok

If you look at the bottom right, it clearly shows that there is this open air gym, some what similar to Muscle Gym in Venice beach California, this place have been there for as long as I can remember and there is never short of people working out here. I am not sure if you get to use the equipment for free or you have to pay a membership, If you run down the path you can see a indoor gym but I am sure that you have to pay.

So if you are in Bangkok and looking for a place to sweat it out without a gym, or maybe just a romantic stroll in the evening. Please do visit Lumphini Park in Bangkok Thailand.  If you have any other favourite place to run in Thailand, do share or let me know what you think. Thanks for reading guys

Opening Hours: 04:30 – 21:00
Location: Rama IV Road, Pathumwan
MRT: Silom, Lumphini
BTS: Saladaeng
How to get there: MRT Subway Silom or Lumphini Stations will drop you right opposite the park.

This was taken from the bangkoksite.com

Leave a Reply

