The Berlin Marathon 2014 Journey

First and foremost, I want to WISH ALL IRONMAN LANGKAWI participants GOOD LUCK and RACE HARD this coming weekend, I wish to join my tri and ironman buddies in the coming future, anyway by the time you are reading this, I would be on the plane to Germany for my 2nd Marathon Major this year, this will be happening exactly 3 day time from today. Imagine running in the same road as Wilson Kipsang (The world record holder for fastest Marathoner) and with thousands of other runners, no fan boy but truly respect for someone able to run that kind of speed. Amazing mind boggling.

I really have no idea what is in stored as I do not have much information from people running the Berlin Marathon , but I know I have train my best with my busy schedule squeezing every ounce of time I had, and even sometimes running at midnight or mostly at my lunch hour, I shall not use that as an excuse but I will give my best to run my targeted Sub4. Pray to God to give me the legs of speeds.

Check out the awesome 26.2m or 42km of road  that I will be running through and most importantly the view of Berlin, I have to say I am looking forward to this run, but to be honest, I don’t know what is the temperature like as for the Tokyo I had lots of heads-up knowing that it will be cold from many other runners telling me about it.

Unsure why I don’t hear from many other runners that have run the Berlin Marathon except for Gisete and Sumiko. I will just be bringing my running thermals just in-case it gets too cold, since I will be there 3 days earlier I will be running around the area in the morning to get what’s a good feel

https://i2.wp.com/www.circus-berlin.de/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Marathon-Course.jpg

Runners at the Victory Column

I am using their official checklist to tick off all the necessities item that ensure all participants that they do not forget anything and I find it really useful, If you want, please click on the picture and print it out for your own use.

My tips before running a race or any event is to lay down your items on the floor and take a good look at what you will be needing and what you do not, Race bibs and nutrition are usually pinned already and nutrition are usually zipped locked and kept in a visible area. (I will even sometimes plan my breakfast in advance)

Berlin ChecklistActually I hope to run my own pace and I have put my running pace and plan set into my head hoping to run my PB. I still have doubt over my running speed and nutrition every time I am at the start line. Always nervous as hell and worried sick about cramps and hydration. We will know once I finish the race.

Well, if you are running the Berlin marathon and reading this, I wish you all the best in your run and good luck.

5 responses

  1. Remy

    Hey!!

    Sorry to bother!
    I really needed help because I have just been registered into next year’s Berlin Marathon and wants to start preparing for things such as accommodation and transport.

    If you could, do u mind advising me on the things I could do if I were to be on a budget?
    Such as when to book flight, from which airline, which hotel(s) are recommended, any tour agency that I can use for arranging the whole trip.
    Other than that, mind sharing the difficulties that one may faced on the route to Berlin?

    Really do appreciate it.

    Thank you.

    Like

    05/12/2014 at 7:42 pm

    • Hi Remy

      Thanks for coming by, I would like to know where are you from first? Are you staying in Asia ? Let me see how I can help on my next post

      Like

      06/12/2014 at 12:12 am

      • Remy

        Hi Isaac,

        Thanks for your reply.
        I am from Singapore. I will keep a lookout for your next posts then.
        Thanks!

        Like

        06/12/2014 at 1:41 am

      • Hi Remy

        I have yet to do my Berlin Race Report, It will take alot of time, but I will finish it after I do my Tokyo one which is already near to a year. LOL. hope you wont mind the wait. Working on a few projects now. but rest assured. I will finish it before Jan ends.

        Do follow my blogpost for more updates and if you like to see anything sports reviewed do let me know. Have a great weekend

        Like

        06/12/2014 at 3:04 am

  2. Remy

    Hi Isaac,

    How is it going?
    Would it be good to let me know which hotel/motel you will recommend?
    I think I am running late now to book for a room.

    Thank you 🙂

    Like

    25/04/2015 at 5:20 am

Leave a Reply

