Mizuno Wave Rider 17 Ultraman edition

Yes, you read that title right, Ultraman is going to be doing this first impression and I, myself am not sure how that little or rather big fella is going to fit into the shoe we are reviewing today but read on.

Mizuno Wave Rider 17Firstly, let me introduce you my trusty Ultraman Leo, sidekick of the millennium and sometimes saving planet earth on a daily basis.  He was asking me what this box I received in the mail today and  I told him that it was from my sponsors World Of Sports (Singapore) and they have provided me with this shoe for a review

SAMSUNG CSC

He was pretty excited about it and kept asking what this latest shoe from Mizuno is and which model, I told him that this box he was sitting on is the Mizuno Wave Rider 17 edition (Wave Rider 18 now is the latest edition in the Wave Rider family)

Since in early 2014, the wave rider 17 made a big impression on me when I was running Tokyo Marathon back in Feb, apparently it was well received by most runners and I have seen many on the running route. So I was wondering to myself, would this be a good shoe for a Marathon?

Mizuno Wave Rider 17

EXCUSE ME? WHAT is this MARATHON you speaking about? I have not seen any Tokyo Marathon race report from you yet??

Told Ultraman Leo that till today I have not gotten off my butt to edit the Tokyo Marathon posting as well as Berlin.

Ultraman Leo was pretty impatient when I opened the box as he said that he wanted a glimpse of it before he death ray my ass, so we opened the box and viola, fresh new kicks straight from the store. Well he wasn’t impressed and said he wanna go at it.

Mizuno Wave Rider 17I can’t believe I have such an impatient Ultraman here, without any hesitation he waved goodbye to me and got on the shoe like it was some rocket ship, I couldn’t even get a good picture of the shoe yet, He told me to hold on while he fly to the moon with it.

Ultraman Leo recommended this shoe to a couple of his buddies and mentioned that the comfort of this shoe is unparallelled by the many shoes he wore, I chuckled as I asked him what shoes does he wear? he gave me a blank stare.

Mizuno Wave Rider 17

He tried pushing it around and the shoe gave much resistance due to the new rubber sole as Mizuno has also tweaked the outsole, opting for lighter blown rubber materials in lieu of a traditional carbon rubber outsole

The 17 has an updated upper, which in-fact is lighter in overlays and seams to reduce weight as well as added comfort, so he was pretty happy with it even hugging it for a while as it was just so comfortable,
Mizuno Wave Rider 17Anyway Ultraman Leo bid you guys goodbye and I am taking over the review for a more insight of the Mizuno Wave 17

Having been running in this shoe, my first impression was how light the shoe was and I was impressed by the build quality of this shoe with the upper construction of the shoe having it reconstructed for lightweight and durability gave this an edge over it’s 16th edition, This new reconstruction helped the 17 shave off a whopping  1.4oz (total weight of the shoe is 8.6oz)

First notice of this shoe when I went out for a quick 10k was that the lacking of a front forefoot cushioning even though it has a additional stack height of 2 mm from the previous.

Mizuno Wave Rider 17 Mizuno Wave Rider 17 Mizuno Wave Rider 17 Mizuno Wave Rider 17If you look closely at the heel of the shoe on the first picture, it has a SR Touch inscribe on the heel, SR Touch means Soft Ride which Mizuno have been creating this rocking effect and named it soft ride. I felt this effect on the Sayonara’s but I am not sure if I felt the effect on the 17 as profound as the Sayonara’s

The shoe comes with the now standard U4iC cushioning to reduce weight for its midsole material and further giving the shoe a sturdy feel without feeling too soft

Well I enjoyed running in this pair of Wave Rider 17 as you can see I even used it for the previous race but for now I am still sticking with my Sayonara as my racing to go to.

Mizuno Wave Rider 17Mizuno Wave Rider 17

Isaac’s 2cents Worth on the Mizuno Wave Rider 17

Pros

  1. The shoe felt is much lighter than it’s predecessor
  2. SR touch made the shoe felt like it was a Sayonara
  3. The new upper helped improve comfort

Cons

  1. The shoe’s sole cushion felt a bit thin, as a mid to front foot strike, I felt every pebble on the floor
  2. Shoe has a side rolling effect when toe off and land (meaning you feel unstable)
  3. How the design did not change from the 16

I already have the 18’s on hand as well as the Sayonara 2. Which shoe will win the battle of the shoes. Stay tuned for more. If you like to see Ultraman in more of the reviews please do let me know as I need to make an appointment with him as he is always traveling from universe to universe.

Mizuno Wave Rider 17

Thank you for dropping by my blog, Ultraman and myself bid you goodbye and HAPPY RACING

3 responses

  1. Most fun shoe review ever.

    Like

    26/11/2014 at 2:46 pm

    • Thank you very much Katy..that really boosted my confidence… Ultraman Leo gave me a hard time..but it was fun working with him.

      You tell me what shoes you intend to buy and I see if I can get a review done on it.

      Liked by 1 person

      26/11/2014 at 4:44 pm

      • I am a big Mizuno & Brooks fan but I won a pair of New Balance last month & picked them up last night. They are the New Balance 880V4. I’d love a review by Ultraman Leo!

        Like

        26/11/2014 at 11:37 pm

Leave a Reply

