Why Am I So Tired? 10 Possible Causes

In the past months, I am feeling a sudden change and it is not a good change but something I can’t seem to pin point and kept me wondering why? Do you feel tired all the time? Apparently a lot of us do. Could it be a symptom? diet? or what ever the hell it is, it sure is bugging me.

Do you feel that even having 10 hours of sleep but still waking up tired? getting energy sapped in the middle of the day? or worst when you hit the couch just to relax you end up waking up the next 5 hours.

Getting your energy back could be simpler than you think. Start by seeing if you can relate to the top three reasons for feeling drained. I am definitely not in the top 3, so what number am I ?

Top 3 Reasons

1. What you eat. Reaching for coffee and sugar can backfire, leaving you more fatigued as your blood sugar levels fluctuate wildly. Instead, go for a balanced, healthy diet of fruits, vegetables, and lean protien. “Eating healthy also means you’ll carry less weight, and obesity is a big contributor to fatigue.

2. How much you sleep. You saw this one coming, right? Many people don’t get enough sleep. If you’re one of them, avoid caffeine and alcohol in the hours just before bedtime, turn off those tablets and gadgets before bed, and keep your bedroom quiet and restful.

3. How much you exercise. Finish at least three hours before bedtime, so you have time to wind down, and knowing how much exercise would be good for you without over doing it. If you think that exercise would just make you more tired, there’s good news: Exercise breeds energy. Almost all the studies that have looked at this question have found the same thing: Sedentary people who start exercising feel much less fatigue than those who stay idle. It’s one of those surprising truths: move more and you’ll get more energy.

Could It Be Something Else?

but what if I am getting all those and yet I am still feeling tired ? So I ask myself should I be worried ? should I do my medical checkup ? (just went for one recently and 100% fine) so could it be a Chronic tiredness? as it is linked to many different medical conditions, such as:

4. Anemia “This is a very common cause of fatigue and very easy to check with a simple blood test,” says Sandra Fryhofer, MD, an Emory University clinical associate professor of medicine. “It’s particularly a problem for women, especially those who are having heavy menstrual periods.” You can remedy anemia with an iron-rich diet, heavy in meats and dark, leafy greens or supplements, if you have a chronic iron deficiency.

5. Deficiencies in key nutrients, such as potassium. Again, this is easily checked with blood testing.

6. Thyroid problems. Over- and under-active thyroids both can cause fatigue, Fryhofer says. A blood test for your level of thyroid -stimulating hormone can help evaluate your thyroid function.

7. Diabetes People who have uncontrolled diabetes “just plain don’t feel good,” Fryhofer says. “If you feel draggy and you’re also having blurred vission or lots of urination, you should get that checked with a blood test.”

8.  Depression If your feelings of exhaustion are accompanied by sadness and loss of appetite, and you just can’t find any pleasure in things you once enjoyed, you may be depressed. Don’t keep that to yourself. Your doctor, or a therapist, can start you on the path back to feeling better.

9. Sleep problems. If you never feel rested, and nothing seems to fix that, you might look into visiting a sleep lab, especially if you snore. Snoring can be part of obstructive sleep apnea, in which people briefly stop breathing several times a night. There are treatments for that.

10. Undiagnosed heart disease. Tiredness can be a sign of heart trouble. “If you have trouble with exercise you used to do easily, or if you start feeling worse when you exercise, this could be a red flag for heart trouble. If you have any doubts, see your doctor.”

But again, start with the basics: your sleep, your diet, and your activity level. Sometimes the simplest fixes are all it takes.

2 responses

  1. Hey, I agree with all the points. One main cause in my life for being tired the past many months is my baby 😛 but seriously, when I started running but especially when I was at the point in life (I’ve backslid again and again) where I was eating clean I felt a difference in my energy level. I was a teacher and I felt I had so much more patience with my students.

    Liked by 1 person

    03/02/2015 at 10:41 pm

    • Hi Lerie, thanks for dropping by, In order to find energy we need to find time, and if time is not on our side then all is lost, I’ve tried eating clean but eating clean comes with a price. LOL .. everything seems so tough at point, well if one dont move their ass off the chair, nothing will change am I right? have a great week. – Isaac

      Like

      05/02/2015 at 10:48 am

Leave a Reply

