Make your own FOAM ROLLER

Foam Roller??!! Am sure you have heard of it and maybe even own one, maybe you are rolling on one right now while reading this, but I found this foam thing pretty underrated by lots of sports professional. So whats a Foam Roller ? got the below excerpt from Wikipedia

Foam rolling is a self-myofascial release (SMR) technique that is used by athletes and physical therapists to inhibit overactive muscles. This form of stretching utilizes the concept of autogenic inhibition to improve soft tissue extensibility, thus relaxing the muscle and allowing the activation of the antagonist muscle.

This technique can be effective for many muscles, including: gastrocnemius, latissimus dorsi, piriformis, adductors, quadriceps, hamstrings, hip flexors, thoracic spine (trapezius and rhomboids), and TFL.

It is accomplished by rolling the foam roller under each muscle group until a tender area is found, and maintaining pressure on the tender area for 30–60 seconds

The one you see above is the P90X RumbleRoller12 inch (Short) and its retails for $44.95 as you can see below, This little foam to me don’t really cost $45 IMHO, but I may be wrong, P90X send me one and I will justify that.. LOL , This weekend I decided to make my own Foam rollers as I felt some Innovation flows through me this weekend..

“There is no doubt that creativity is the most important human resource of all. Without creativity, there would be no progress, and we would be forever repeating the same patterns.”

— Edward de Bono

So how will you be able to own one without paying top dollar for this? well I found a simple solution and made one for myself,  Ok it may be without the Fancy Shamcy ribbed foam pointing out,but hey you get for what you pay for,

First you need to get a couple of items, maybe you even have it lying around your house

  1. Industrial Metal Pipe , found this lying around at the warehouse that I work  at and they have no use for this, its pretty sturdy and its strong enough to withstand my weight
  2. Industrial Strength double side tape
  3. Non Slip Mat (I’ve chosen yellow to contrast with my stretching mat)
  4. Scissors to cut up the items *DUH

If you notice I’ve put in the strips diagonally so it will feel ribbed with I roll over. This strips are the foam type and it do gives in the ribbed feeling, Nice

Once you have placed all the stripped around, just wrapped the non-slip mat tightly over the pipe, I cut it longer so I will be able to fold it in as the edge will feel soft as well.

Ta-Da, my own foam roller at a fraction of the cost, oh how much is the fraction ? well here is the breakdown

Material                                                  Cost

Industrial Metal Pipe                              FREE

Industrial Double Sided Tape              $3.00

Non-Slip Mat                                            $3.00

Total                                                 $6.00

So Yup, there you go, NOW go make your own roller and save some Moolah, you can contribute to my “Help the Isaac who wanna travel the World fund” . No seriously, I accept Cheque and PayPal, am grateful to any amount sent .. LOL, if you really did send I will just use your money towards Charity of your choice. yeah and tha’ts HOW I ROLL !!

4 responses

  1. Pingback: 背闊肌 Lats « ::: Therapy Collect ::: Affordable Care Community :::

    • awesome blog.. therapy .. maybe i need some

      Like

      29/02/2012 at 9:36 am

  2. Pingback: Piriformis Nerve » Treatment for Piriformis Syndrome

  3. Pingback: How to Recover Faster from your Runs | Everything Swim Bike and Run and the Occasional Life Encounters

Leave a comment