Swimming Goggle Kayenne Aqua Sphere

TYR goggles was my always my first choice in the swimming pool, pronounced as (Tah-Yer), but I usually just call them T-Y-R when I need to buy one from the departmental store, this is because when I pronounce them, the sales person would go What? you can buy them at the car shop, so its easier just to say T-Y-R, just so you know TYR is named after the Norse god of victory (Tier)

Today I wont be reviewing about TYR products but more Aquasphere, This brand has been around since 1998 and has been making waves around the triathlon world,  I went online did some reading on it but nothing much on its website beside their usual product description and all.

The Aquasphere range of goggles are not your usual goggles as it they made them into this odd shape lens or so I thought, recently I got myself the Aqua Sphere Kayenne because my trusty TYR goggles is leaking and fogging up on me

So here is what I think of it after a couple of months using it in the pool.

The goggles had all the Italian style from where it came from, even the packaging it came  was cool, it was packed in a hard, reusable case which keeps the googles from getting scratch in the swim bag.

Fit/Comfort: When I first put the Kayenne on, It felt that it was made to fit my face, I am sure it has something to do with the design, the fit is comfortable and adjusting these goggles to the right fit was the EASIEST thing I have ever felt before, All the tugging and pulling of your google strap is a thing of the past with the Kayenne as it has this button on both side where you just push and adjust to the proper sizing.

Aquasphere Kayenne IsaacLoo

Seal: The seal fits great, once adjusted to my contour of my face, I will usually give it one more push at the bridge to make it seal tighter, Once I’ve had them adjusted properly, they seal just nice and tight. I hadn’t have too much issue with leaks but I did face a slight leak whenever I push off the wall (with excess force) but should be no problem if it is in OWS.

Clarity/Fogging: This goggles are beautiful to begin with for its 180 degree view, the clarity on the smoked lens that I have bought is just crystal clear.  The tint was just about right to be used in any light condition even in the evening setting sun. I am sure they are very versatile in all sorts of light condition . There was no fogging issue even when I have them on for the whole session and in between breaks.

Negative : I only found that this goggles strap moved when I placed it over my head, but that’s about it, maybe I am too rough when it comes to placing the goggle over my swim cap.

Isaac’s 2 Cents Worth:

The good: Goggles fit to a T and it feels like you have no goggles on. Its really comfortable and the 180degree view is just perfect for OWS or in a crowded pool , goggle design are very stunning.

The bad:  My strap moved when wearing them over my swim cap but that should be no problem with the release button to adjust it again.

I can’t wait to try their other range out, but I am so attracted to the Kayenne for its functionality and looks. If you are looking to buy goggles to replace, I highly recommend this to you.

4 responses

  1. Exactly my thoughts too. They are a winner

    Like

    30/01/2013 at 8:40 pm

    • I cant wait for your review… wanna see what you have to say for this.. I will be doing mostly swim reviews for now cause of my injured foot.

      Cheers buddy. see you soon

      Like

      31/01/2013 at 12:46 am

  2. I’ll have to try these out!

    Like

    05/09/2013 at 10:55 am

    • They really are a dream to use and being such curved shape it fits perfect on the cheeks, they come in two sizes small fit and regular fit, find one that fits you, I think being Italian made it comes with a price on the high side for goggles, but its one price i would definitely pay for, recommend this to so many friends and none have turned back.

      If you do buy one do let me know how you feel, bad or good, Always love to hear more feedback.

      Cheers and happy swimming girls
      Isaac976

      Like

      05/09/2013 at 12:01 pm

Leave a comment