Socks that All Runners Should Consider

Imagine if I tell you that one sock can do all this

  1. Prevent foot pain, that this socks can protect you from Plantar Fasciitis
  2. Protect you from a Sore foot
  3. Protect you from Callus
  4. Protect you from Blister
  5. Protect against Athlete foot
  6. and one of the main problem that most runner’s face “BLACK TOE”

And yes, such a sock exist, and I had the chance to try it out, I usually do not run in socks for my training and even runs up to 10km, anything above 10km and trails, I will definitely look for comfort, I think I will be running more in socks after I was given a pair of Thorlos to test out,

Thanks to World Of Sports, They handed me this socks and told me that, you will never wear another brand of socks again once you have tried these, and maybe they were right!! I received a pair of Thorlos Experia picture below in gray for a trial recently.

Opening this socks from its cover and touching it seems like nothing special I tell you, I kept touching the material and I wonder, what would have made them say that this socks would be the only brand on my mind if I were to think of socks. If you look at the pictures I have inserted it seems just like any ordinary socks,oh how wrong I was, look closer at the mid foot, it has a separate from the heel and the ball of your feet and Thorlos specially place padding in all the right place to maximize comfort.

Thorlo isaac976

I paired the Thorlos Experia with one of the thinnest shoes I have, the New Balance Minimus Road and I tell you this socks sure made my minimal shoe feels padded. I used it not only for running but I walked the whole day at the office and it felt really comfortable but the Coolmax feature was not working for me cause I felt my legs were pretty warm all the time. (maybe it was drying my feet)

Having tried them out in a few of my runs over 10km, I personally like how it cushions my feet and gives the support to the right place especially the forefoot which helps reduce friction thus preventing blister and the back of the heel as are places that tends to get chaffed from rubbing against the back of the shoe, my running gaits usually falls on mid-foot and this socks makes my mid-foot landing on pavement and tarmac feels so comfortable. its like wearing a padded shoe (This was on m NB Minimus)

Compared to other sports socks in the market the Thorlos Experia is easily one of the most expensive non compression socks I have but it does serve its purpose, and remember you get what you pay for.  Thorlos Experia is something everyone should invest on if they are looking to add some extra comfort and support to their run.

I totally recommend this socks for running distance of 5k to Full Marathon.. If you have spare change heck even buy it even for everyday use, I am thinking of buying it as my work socks now.  Thorlos Experia is available at all World Of Sports Outlet.

Some tech specs for the geek in me.

The Thorlos Experia consist material of
20% nylon
66% CoolMax®
13% Polyester
1% Elastic

More about Thorlo

Statesville, North Carolina based THORLO, Inc., the originator of activity specific socks, is committed to providing the ultimate in foot protection and comfort for all consumers. Over 25 years of scientific research stands behind the Thorlosâ ultimate consumer promise of “Your Feet Will Feel Better or Your Money Back.”

All Thorlos sock products are designed to protect the foot from activity-specific demands such as shear, impact, and blistering. Thorlos provides its consumers with superior comfort products, which allows them to enjoy their active lifestyles. Whether running, walking, hiking, or everyday wear, there is a pair of Thorlos for everyone, every shoe, and every activity.

6 responses

  1. Totally agree, those socks are amazing! Thanks for the review.

    Like

    13/11/2013 at 9:42 am

    • Your welcome Elizabeth.. I wanna try CompressSports the socks with the dots if you have heard of em, but I dont think any socks can come close to comfort against Thorlo.

      Like

      13/11/2013 at 9:47 am

      • I haven’t heard of them, but I will Google them now!

        Like

        13/11/2013 at 10:11 am

      • LOL.. oh no .. I just poisoned another runner. If you can you buy and do your review and let me know about it, Thanks for visiting my blog

        Like

        13/11/2013 at 10:14 am

      • Isaac, yes you did! I will for sure let you know. You’re welcome! Great blog. – Elizabeth

        Like

        13/11/2013 at 10:15 am

  2. Pingback: Time to Bundle Up – Part 2 (socks) « Soleful mamas

Leave a Reply

